'So God Made A Racehorse' Honoured

Published: March 2, 2016 08:35 am EST

The video presentation of 'So God Made A Racehorse', produced by Standardbred Canada's Brittney Mayotte and Darryl Kaplan, has been honoured as a finalist for the 2015 Media Sovereign Awards.

On Tuesday, the Jockey Club of Canada announced the finalists for the Media Sovereign Award categories for 2015. The winner in each of the three media categories will be announced at the 41st Annual Sovereign Awards on April 8, 2016 at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto.

Kaplan's take on Paul Harvey's 'So God Made a Farmer' speech was originally published in the December 2014 issue of Trot Magazine. The video debuted at the 2015 Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame induction ceremony and was unveiled to the world the following morning on standardbredcanada.ca.

(video not loading? click here. Mac user? click here)

Judging for the 2015 Media Sovereign Award categories was performed by Professors of the Journalism Program at the School of Media Studies & Information Technology, Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Listed in alphabetical order, the full list of finalists follows:

Writing Category:

  • Joe Nevills and Nicole Russo – Smart Strike Remembered (Published in Daily Racing Form)

  • Curtis Stock – A Love of Horses (Published in the Edmonton Journal)

  • Paul Wiecek – Turbulence at the Track (Published in Winnipeg Free Press)

Digital Audio/visual and Broadcast Category:

  • Horse Racing Alberta – 2015 Canadian Derby (Broadcast on Canadian Television Network)

  • Darryl Kaplan & Brittney Mayotte – So God Made a Racehorse (Broadcast on standardbredcanada.ca and at the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame)

  • Talkin’ Horses – Horses S02 E17 (Broadcast on CTV2)

Photograph Category:

  • Michael Burns Jr. – Early Morning (published on woodbineentertainment.com)

  • Hayley Morrison – Gigantic Breeze (published on Ontario Horse Racing)

  • Chris Young – Early Morning Groom (published on globeandmail.com)